Editor: Stephen Dorrington

Club Directors
Past President
Community Service
International Service
Membership and Club Service
Public Image and Events
New Generation
If you wish to apologise or register a Leave of Absence Request, please use the links below. Any problems please use contact form and emails will be forwarded. Remember absences need to be submitted before 6 pm on Thursday to be credited. LOAs require board approval


Leave of Absence

Meeting Information
We meet Fridays at 6:45 AM
Tauranga Club
Level 5 Devonport Towers, 72 Devonport Road
PO Box 2401
Tauranga 3140,
New Zealand
DistrictSiteIcon District Site
Upcoming Events
Board Meeting
ANZ Board Room, Cameron Rd
Mar 26, 2019
5:30 PM – 7:00 PM
Mystery IPP RCTS
Mar 29, 2019
6:45 AM – 8:00 AM
Today's figures:











Guests and visitors:
Jordon Cornes, Ray Dumble


Visitors:  Jordon Cornes, Ray Dumble
President’s Welcome – The meeting commenced with members standing for a few moments silence.
Birthdays - Chris Rapson was reminded that today was Lizzy’s birthday. “No, no says he. Her birthday’s on the 22nd – tomorrow!”
In other news: Ursula’s b’day 26th, Paul and Christa’s wedding anniversary and Michelle Beaton’s Rotary Anniversary.
Glenys Parton - Congratulations to Glenys who received the Sapphire Pin at conference for her work with ROMAC.
Kaimai Classic  - Phil Mangos reported that this had once again been an extremely successful event raising ~ $20K for the Kaimai School and greater community. Starting 19 years ago, the Kaimai Classic is played over 12 holes scratched out of dry stock farm on Soldiers Rd. Phil and Bayleys have been sponsors since 2015 and run a corporate day, auctioning sponsored items. 16 teams took part in the latest event, arriving by bus from the city with refreshments supplied by our very own Sally Morrison. Big smiles all round at the end of the day – Phil says he experiences immense amounts of good karma with this project and as a Rotarian, enjoys doing his share in the community.
RYPENS  - 37 youngster’s enjoyed the delights of camp cuisine Ngamuwahine style. Not too many casualties this year. Many thanks to all involved.
Hong Kong Billets – Michelle reports that we are struggling to find homes for all students – still 18 places required. Sun 14th (1 night) and 23rd & 24th April. Please let Michelle know if you can help. Also if your status is “to be confirmed” please, do indeed confirm!  This is an easy way for the club to make $6K.
Guest speaker Ray Dumble from Tauranga Airport tells us he loves the smell or kerosene in the morning. He has been at Tauranga Airport for 17 years after being a pilot for Air NZ. Ray then ran through the highlights of Tauranga’s aviation history, a visit from Boeing One in 1920, Hilda Hewletts 1932 visit, a runway on Takitimu drive (accessible only ½ an hour each side of low tide) and the current Tauranga Airport opening in 1939. RNZAF presence during the war and then the Friendship services beginning in 1967.
A Winston Peters brokered deal saw TDC buy out the other shareholders (WBoPDC & the Crown) and proceed to run a very profitable and successful business. Improved navigation techniques ensure that the Port of Tauranga and the Airport will be able to operate side by side and that every inbound flightpath is now directly above the Wisbey residence in Te Puna.
There was then some reference to spaghetti and meatballs, drones, and a need to sterilize the airspace after some mishap or another.
Sergeant – Andrew Knowles complained that last week’s Limericks were not salacious enough, and that none of them were about anyone from Nantucket, nor Ghent for that matter.
Parting Thought
Parting thought from Glenys Parton
“Stars can’t shine without darkness.”

Duties for the next 3 weeks:


Warren Scobie
Julie Hignett
Barbara Whitton
Technology Set-up
John Carlson
David Robinson
David Robinson
Door and Parting Thought
Antoon Moonen
Jane Nees
Wendy Lowe
Dean Thompson
Shiv Thammalla
Chris Dever
Speaker Intro and Host
Les Geraghty
Stuart Pedersen
Rhonda Wisbey
Speaker Thanks
Ray Scott
Lynda Burch
Mary O’Sullivan
Sally Morrison
Warren Banks
Neville Whitworth
Bulletin Editor
Bill Chapman
Max Mason
Max Mason
Julie Hignett
Barbara Whitton
Ross Brown
Warren Banks – My Year as President
Kerri Price – Sailing with purpose
Todd Muller MP – Climate Change